Dynjandi

Reservation and consultation

Arinbjörn Jóhannsson
Brekkulækur
531 Hvammstangi
ICELAND
Phone +354-451 2938
Fax +354-451 2998
e-mail: info@abbi-island.is
  • Springtime Highlight

    9 DAYS – ROUND TRIP FOR BIRD- AND NATURE LOVERS

    In spring millions of birds of passage come to Iceland. After a long winter, the magical landscape and nature return to life – thunderous brooks, lively birds, bleating lambs. One of the highlights during this journey is a trip to the peninsula Skagi, where eider duck farmer Vignir introduces us to his fascinating surroundings and takes us via boat to a bird’s paradise, a little island with thousands of puffins and eider ducks. On this tour, we will also visit the beautiful peninsula Vatnsnes, the mystical Snæfellsnes national park and the unique Westfjords. There, another highlight awaits us: a day of hiking along the impressive and stunningly beautiful steep coast Látrabjarg. On our journey, we will meet ca. 70% of Iceland’s bird life: Razorbills, the common Guillemot, Fulmars, Kittiwakes, Harlequin ducks, Red-necked Phalaropes, Snipes, Oystercatchers, Ptarmigan, Gyrfalcons and more. We will explore the island by car, by boat and on foot and there will be time to relax in natural hot water swimming pools. All true lovers of nature and especially those interested in birds will enjoy this tour!


  • Program „Springtime Highlight“

    Day 1Day 2Day 3Day 4Day 5Day 6Day 7Day 8Day 9
    Thu.: Keflavík – Brekkulækur
    Reception at the airport in Keflavík between 15:00 and 16:30 or around 17:30 in Reykjavík. Transfer to the guesthouse Brekkulækur in the north west of Iceland, where we will spend the next 4 nights.
    Fri.: Vatnsnes peninsula
    In the morning, you will wake up to the lovely sound of birds present in the countryside: Golden plover, redshank, common snipe, dunlin, whimbrel, meadow pipit, redwing, raven. At first, we will explore the surroundings of the farm, where you will meet Icelandic horses. In the afternoon, we will visit a seal colony on the peninsula Vatnsnes. With a bit of luck we will also come across the horned grebe and the red-throated loon. In the evening relaxation time in a natural hot swimming pool. (B, L, D)
    Sat.: Peninsula Skagi – Puffins – Eiders
    Today we leave early to one of our tour highlights: the peninsula Skagi, where we get to know one of the main eiders farmers. He shows us his world of eiders which provide him with the most expensive down in the world. We will also take a short boat trip to a little island full of puffins. (B, P, D)
    Sun.: Arnarvatnsheiði – Vatnsdalur
    We drive up to the highland and look out for the Gyrfalcon. Afterwards, we drive to Vatnsdalur, which is one of the most beautiful and geological remarkable valleys of Iceland. This valley is full of lakes and we meet a lot of water birds on short hikes. (B, P, D)
    Mon.: Brekkulækur – Westfjords – Patreksfjörður
    We are leaving the farm Brekkulækur and are going for a longer drive to the impressive, barren Westfjords. Short stop in the fascinating Reykhólar with its hot springs and ponds, where we might see different kinds of ducks and loons. We will spend the night in a simple guesthouse in Patreksfjörður. (B, P, D)
    Tue.: Látrabjarg
    We will spend the day hiking along the gigantic steep coast Látrabjarg, Europe’s biggest colony for seabirds. It is 13 km long and up to 440 metres high. There, we will watch thousands of seabirds: Fulmar, kittiwake, razorbill, guillemot, thick-billed murre and again the trusting puffin. (B, P, D)
    Wed.: Patreksfjörður – ferryboat to Arnarstapi
    We drive up-hill and cross several mountains until we reach Arnarfjörður, where we visit the impressive waterfall “Dynjandi”. We will take a break at the tideland and look out for knots and turnstones. They stop there every spring on their way from Europe to Greenland. Later, we continue our journey with a ferry across the bay of Breiðafjörður to the little town Stykkishólmur, which is situated on the mystic and legendary peninsula Snæfellsnes. From there we will go by minibus to the village Arnarstapi, where we will stay overnight in a simple guesthouse. Nearby is a huge Arctic tern colony as well as a wonderful black lava coast and more birds: Black guillemot and sometimes the northern gannet. (B, P, D)
    Thu.: Arnarstapi – Reykjavík – Keflavík
    From Arnarstapi we will take a short walk along the spectacular seaside to Hellnar, before we go south. Short stay in Reykjavík, the capital of Iceland. We will spend the night in a simple guesthouse in Keflavík. (B)
    Fri.: Departure
    Transfer to the airport and good-bye to Iceland.
  • Request

    Please indicate the preferred tour and date in your request!

Level

Date

30.05. – 07.06.2019

Price

1.760,- EUR per person only tour, without flight (8 nights)

Included

  • Tour as described
  • Entrance fees according to program
  • All transfers
  • 9 days
  • 8 overnight stays in double or triple rooms
  • single room possible at extra charge (400€)
  • Board like description (B=breakfast, L=lunch, P=picnic, D=dinner)
  • Local German, English and Icelandic speaking guide
  • hiking tours without luggage, max. 7 hours per day

Not included: Insurance, short transfers in Reykjavík

Things you should bring along:
Well-fitting broken-in hiking shoes, waterproof-clothing, rucksack, gloves and warm cap, swimsuit.

Participants

maximum number: 15

Reiseverlauf
Papageitaucher
Látrabjarg

Buchung und Beratung

Arinbjörn Jóhannsson
Brekkulækur
IS – 531 Hvammstangi
ISLAND
Tel. +354-451 2938
Fax +354-451 2998
e-mail: info@abbi-island.is
  • FRÜHLINGSPERLE

    9 TAGE – RUNDREISE FÜR HOBBYORNITHOLOGEN UND ANDERE NATURLIEBHABER

    Im Frühling kommen Millionen von Zugvögeln nach Island. Wir erleben mit, wie die magische Landschaft und Natur nach dem langen Winter wieder zum Leben erwacht – tosende Bäche, balzende Vögel, blökende Lämmer. Ein Höhepunkt der Reise wird ein Tagesausflug zur Halbinsel Skagi sein, wo wir den Eiderentenbauern Vignir und seine Welt kennenlernen und u.a. eine kurze Bootsfahrt zu seinem Inselvogelparadies mit tausenden Eiderenten und Papageitauchern unternehmen. Wir besuchen die bezaubernde Halbinsel Vatnsnes, das sagenumwobene Snæfellsnes mit Nationalpark und die Westfjorde, wo uns ein weiterer Höhepunkt erwartet: Eine Tageswanderung auf der gewaltigen und atemberaubenden Steilküste Látrabjarg. Wir begegnen auf unserer Reise ca. 70% der isländischen Vogelwelt. Dabei erkunden wir die Insel mit dem Auto, der Fähre, einem Boot und zu Fuß und entspannen zwischendurch im naturheißen Schwimmbad. Auf dieser Reise kommen alle Island-Naturliebhaber und Vogelfreunde auf ihre Kosten!

    Bildergalerie zur Reise

    Schneehuhn
  • Ablauf „Frühlingsperle“

    1. Tag2. Tag3. Tag4. Tag5. Tag6. Tag7. Tag8. Tag9. Tag
    1. Tag, Do.: Keflavík – Brekkulækur
    Flug ab gebuchtem Flughafen und Empfang am Flughafen Keflavík zw. 15:00 und 16:30 oder um 17.30 in Reykjavík. Wir fahren Richtung Norden zum Hof Brekkulækur, unserem Quartier für die nächsten 4 Nächte. (A)
    2. Tag, Fr.: Halbinsel Vatnsnes
    Morgens werden wir geweckt von den Vögeln, welche hier auf dem Lande allgegenwärtig sind: Goldregenpfeifer, Rotschenkel, Bekassine, Alpenstrandläufer, Regen-brachvogel, Wiesenpieper, Rotdrossel und Kolkrabe. Nachdem Frühstück erkunden wir mit Begleitung die Umgebung des Hofes und am Nachmittag unternehmen wir einen Ausflug zur schönen Halbinsel Vatnsnes. Mit ein bisschen Glück werden wir Seehunden und auch dem Ohrentaucher und dem Sterntaucher begegnen. Abends Entspannung im naturheißen Schwimmbad. (F, M, A)
    3. Tag, Sa.: Halbinsel Skagi – Papageientaucher – Eiderenten
    Heute brechen wir früh auf zu einem Höhepunkt dieser Tour, in den Norden Islands zur Halbinsel Skagi. Dort lernen wir einen der wichtigsten Eiderentenbauern Islands persönlich kennen. Er führt uns in die Eiderenten Landwirtschaft ein, diese liefert ihm die teuersten Daunen der Welt! Unter anderem machen wir mit ihm auch eine kurze Bootsfahrt zu einer Insel, die von tausenden Eiderenten und Papageitaucher bevölkert ist. (F, P, A)
    4. Tag, So.: Arnarvatnsheiði – Vatnsdalur
    Wir fahren Richtung Hochland und halten Ausschau nach dem seltenen Gerfalken. Dann geht es weiter in das Tal Vatnsdalur, das oft als schönstes Tal Islands bezeichnet wird, da es geologisch sehr besonders ist. In dieser wasserreichen Region begegnen uns auf kleinen Wanderungen bestimmt viele Wasservögel. (F, P, A)
    5.Tag, Mo.: Brekkulækur – Westfjorde – Patreksfjörður
    Heute haben wir eine lange Etappe mit dem Auto vor uns: Wir verlassen den Hof Brekkulækur und fahren in die Westfjorde. Dort lassen wir uns bezaubern von der eindrucksvollen, kargen Fjordlandschaft des Breiðafjörður und machen einen Abstecher zum faszinierenden Ort
    Reykhólar mit seinen zahlreichen dampfenden heissen Quellen. Zudem tummeln sich hier verschiedene Taucherarten und Enten. Übernachtung 2x in einem einfachen Gästehaus in Patreksfjörður. (F, P, A)
    6.Tag, Di.: Látrabjarg
    Tageswanderung an der gigantischen Steilküste Látrabjarg, Europas größter Seevogelkolonie, die beeindruckende 13 km lang und bis zu 440 m hoch ist. Hier treffen wir auf abertausende von Seevögeln: Eissturmvogel, Dreizehenmöwe, Tordalk, Trottellumme, Dickschnabellumme und auch den zutraulichen Papageitaucher. (F, P, A)
    7. Tag, Mi.: Patreksfjörður – Fährfahrt – Arnarstapi
    Über mehrere Bergpässe geht es zum Fjord Arnarfjörður, wo wir den schönen Wasserfall Dynjandi, der in mehreren Kaskaden fächerförmig ca. 100m in die Tiefe stürzt, besichtigen. Unterwegs stoppen wir an einem Watt und halten Ausschau nach den letzten Knutt und Steinwälzern, die dort im Frühjahr auf ihrem Weg von Europa nach Grönland zu Tausenden Halt machen. Dann bringt uns das Schiff über die Bucht Breiðafjörður mit ihren unzähligen Inseln und Schären zum Städtchen Stykkishólmur auf der sagenumwobenen Halbinsel Snæfellsnes. Dort steigen wir wieder in unser Auto und fahren zum kleinen Ort Arnarstapi mit seiner großen Küstenseeschwalbenkolonie und der einmalig schönen Lavaküste. Übernachtung in einfachem Gästehaus. (F, P, A)
    8. Tag, Do.: Arnarstapi – Keflavík – Programmende
    Von Arnarstapi aus begeben wir uns auf eine kleine Wanderung entlang der Küste nach Hellnar, bevor wir Richtung Süden zur Halbinsel Reykjanes fahren und an der schönen Küste Ausschau nach Basstölpeln halten. Übernachtung in einfachem Gästehaus in Keflavík. (F)
    9. Tag, Fr.: Abreise
    Transfer zum Flughafen und Abschied von Island.
  • Anfrage

    Bitte unbedingt gewünschte Tour und Termin bei der Anfrage angeben!

Schwierigkeitsgrad

Termine

30.05. – 07.06.2019

Preise

1.760,- EUR pro Person nur Tour ohne Flug (8 ÜN))

Leistungen

  • Tour wie beschrieben
  • Eintritte lt. Programm
  • alle Transfers
  • 9 Tage
  • 8 Übernachtungen in Doppel-/Dreibettzimmer, Einzelzimmer auf Anfrage und gegen Aufpreis 400,-EUR
  • Verpflegung wie beschrieben, Vollpension ab Abendessen am 1. Tag bis Frühstück am 8. Tag (F=Frühstück, M =Mittagessen, P=Picknick, A=Abendessen).
  • Einheimischer, deutsch, englisch und isländisch sprechender Guide
  • Tageswanderungen ohne Gepäck, max. 7 Std. am Tag

Nicht inbegriffen: Reiserversicherung, ggf. Kurztransfers in Reykjavík

Teilnehmerzahl

max. 15 Personen